About the Institute Community and Equity Office

The Institute Community and Equity Officer (ICEO) serves as a thought leader on the subjects of community, equity, inclusion, and diversity; a focal point for organizing MIT’s related activities and conversations; and a hands-on practitioner who disseminates best practices and inspires the awareness and enthusiasm to help them flourish. The acronym ICEO can refer to either the Office – with staff listed below – or to Institute Community and Equity Officer, John Dozier.

Drawing on the strength and energy of our extraordinary diversity of experiences and backgrounds, the ICEO shall lead MIT to make practical progress on a daily basis toward cultivating a caring community focused on MIT’s shared values of excellence, community, equity, belonging, openness, integrity, and mutual respect. This work shall be carried out in ways that enhance the life and work of MIT faculty, students, postdocs, staff, and the MIT community with the aim of making everyone here feel that MIT is home. The ICEO reports to the Provost.

 

ICEO Staff

John Dozier
Institute Community & Equity Officer
jdozier@mit.edu
617-253-8418
Bldg. 4-205

Maryanne Kirkbride
Deputy Institute Community & Equity Officer
kirk@mit.edu
617-253-5240
Bldg. 10-110

Beatriz Cantada
Director of Engagement for Diversity and Inclusion
bcantada@mit.edu
617-258-0549
Bldg. 4-205

Jason McKnight
Assistant Director, MindHandHeart
jrmac@mit.edu
Bldg. 10-110

Chad Galts
Communications Director
galts@mit.edu
Bldg. 10-110

Rachel Ornitz
Administrative Assistant
rornitz@mit.edu
617-715-2066
Bldg. 4-205

 

School-Based Staff

Alana Anderson
Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
MIT Schwarzman College of Computing
alanaa@mit.edu
617-715-2612
Bldg. E18-329

Bryan Thomas Jr.
Assistant Dean. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
MIT Sloan School of Management
batjr@mit.edu
617-253-1000

Kuheli Dutt
Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
School of Science
kdutt@mit.edu
617-715-2656
Bldg. 6-131

Monica Orta
Asst. Dean Diversity Equity Belonging & Student Support
School of Architecture and Planning
mmorta@mit.edu
617-324-3856
Bldg. E15-429

Nandi Bynoe
Assistant Dean, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
School of Engineering
nandi@mit.edu

Tracie Jones
Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
jonestd@mit.edu
617-253-3450
Bldg. 4-240