Diversity Officers, Committees, and Offices

These officers, committees, and offices promote diversity and inclusion at MIT, but every community member can play a role in advancing a respectful and caring community. Please feel free to reach out to the people listed below. We welcome your ideas for change, improvements, feedback, and other communications.

I. Officers, Directors, Managers, and Diversity Representatives

  1. Gloria Casilda Anglon, Assistant Director of Diversity Initiatives and MSRP, Office of the Dean for Graduate Education
  2. Edmund Bertschinger, Institute Community and Equity Officer
  3. Kathleen Cahill, Associate Dean for Accessibility & Usability
  4. La-Tarri Canty, Director of Multicultural Programs, Student Activities Office
  5. DiOnetta Jones Crayton, Associate Dean and Director, Office of Minority Education
  6. Nina Davis-Millis, Director of Community Support and Staff Development, Libraries
  7. Mareshia Donald, Biological Engineering Education/Diversity Program Manager
  8. Abigail Francis, Director of LGBTQ at MIT
  9. Catherine Gamon, Director of Student Life, Sloan School of Management
  10. Gerardo Garcia-Rios, Assistant Dean & Interim Co-Director, Student Support Services
  11. Eboney Hearn, Executive Director, Office of Engineering Outreach Programs
  12. Alberto Hernandez, Undergraduate Association Assistant Officer on Diversity
  13. Judy “JJ” Jackson, Diversity and Inclusion Officer
  14. Alyce Johnson, HR Manager of Staff Diversity and Inclusion
  15. Bill Kindred, Lincoln Lab Manager of Diversity and Inclusion
  16. Maryanne Kirkbride, Clinical Director for Campus Life, MIT Medical
  1. Kirk Kolenbrander, Vice President and Chair, Academic Council Working Group on Inclusion
  2. Helen Elaine Lee, Professor of CMS/Writing and Director of Women’s and Gender Studies
  3. Diane Magnuson, MIT Medical Manager of Diversity and Inclusion
  4. Kate McCarthy, Director of Violence Prevention and Response, Division of Student Life
  5. Kathleen Monagle, Associate Dean, Student Disability Services
  6. Emily Neill, Program Manager, Program in Women’s and Gender Studies
  7. Monica Orta, Assistant Director of Diversity and Student Support, Program in Media Arts and Sciences
  8. Kwadwo Poku, Manager of Diversity Recruitment and Initiatives, School of Architecture and Planning
  9. Sarah Rankin, Director and Title IX Coordinator
  10. Agustin Rayo, Associate Dean, School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
  11. Elliott Richman, HR Manager of Disability Services
  12. Mandana Sassanfar, Lecturer and Diversity Coordinator, Department of Biology and Center for Brains, Minds and Machines
  13. Andi Sutton, Program Manager, Consortium for Graduate Studies in Gender, Culture, Women, and Sexuality (GCWS)
  14. John Wuestneck, Chaplain to the Institute, Interim
  15. Mary Ziegler, Program Manager of Online Accessibility, Office of Digital Learning

II. Committees (centrally sponsored and those reporting to units)

IV. Other Resources

  1. Leading for Change Consortium (statewide)
  2. MIT Discussion (MIT certificate required)
  3. MyLife Services
  4. Soulstrong: Portraits of Resilience
  5. Sloan Diversity and Community Committee (Available to members of the Sloan School; other MIT community members can access these pages by following the instructions to create a MySloan account.)


  • Section I includes only those people at the level of Director, Manager, Associate Dean or above, or who are not otherwise represented through their offices in Section III.
  • The committees and other organizations listed in Section II are resources to their constituencies. The listing is presented for informational purposes only.
  • For additions, corrections, or updates to this list, please contact iceo@mit.edu.


Last updated 8/16/2016 at 4:30 pm