Departmental Diversity Statements

In December, 2015, the Black Students’ Union presented MIT’s senior leadership with a set of recommendations for strengthening a community of equity and inclusion. Recommendation 10 called for “A formal statement from the leader of each MIT Department, Lab, Center on behalf of one’s department or group affirming MIT’s commitment to students’ health, diversity, and inclusion” and they provided suggestions for the content of these statements.

Departmental statements in response to BSU Recommendation 10

School of Architecture and Planning

All of the Departments and Centers in the School of Architecture and Planning, including the academic programs listed below, drafted and signed a joint Statement on community well-being, diversity, and inclusion.

  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Urban Studies and Planning
  • Media Arts and Sciences

School of Engineering

School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

School of Science

Division of Student Life

Human Resources at MIT

MIT Admissions

MIT Libraries

Office of the Vice Chancellor

The Picower Institute for Learning and Memory

Sloan School of Management